1927 clutch issues - spring?

Started by Brian Petheram, January 29, 2019, 11:29:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brian Petheram

This interesting - it seems the design evolved over the years. I did a lot of searching both of this forum and on the wider web but most of the mentions of clutch stops relate to adjustment rather than construction or repair. I have already remade my stops and will go for a test run when it stops raining - all seems well on the bench. The way they work seems quite straightforward and the stresses should be fairly slight if the clutch is not dragging.
I am no engineer but the very shallow cups on my holders seemed wrong to me but they were both the same and I assume they are original - I can't imagine that the holders would ever wear out! 10mm with a 3/16 protrusion seems a much better design for the purpose. Having said that, I am working with what I have and ended up with about a 8mm protrusion. I settled on this partly because that length gives a decent range of adjustment leeway taking into acount the distance between the cover and the clutch and the overall length of the clutch stop holders.
Regarding the material, the fractionally smaller diameter relative to my parts mean that they are sitting in essentially a cup of araldite which is probably preferable than a tight fit on such a shallow holding piece. If the holders were about 10mm deep then a tight fit would be better with a dab of araldite in the bottom of the holder. A post on a previous thread in this forum said they were originally leather. The remaining one I dug out was cork, but I doubt the material is critical if it has sufficient shear strength and a reasonable coefficient of friction.
If my attempt at repair doesn't work out, I will update on here but I am optimistic!

singleminded

My 1932 clutch stops have a 10mm approx recess in them, at least the spare ones do. The material sticks out about 3/16"..

VicYouel

Brian