Cylinder studs

Started by Thomas, January 28, 2021, 08:11:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Russ

nothing to do with chroming.....but if you want to make your nuts and bolts black (Blued) there is a fairly simple solution......heat the object evenly till Blue / purple colour and then immediately immerse into oil and agitate you can do this process several times depending on how black (Blued) you want them......by the way I use old engine oil....LOL.....results were pretty good.....of course you can buy cold blueing chemical treatment which is easy see below

Thomas

Well, I am more with Claudius, who obviously is an expert (we are all experts in our fields, aren't we). Zinc plating came up here but was waived after Claudius' definite information. As a layman I carefully listen to experts (who are normally able to do the job by definition) and have no reason for distrust. But I agree, Wikipedia (worldwide source of misinformation? Well...!) should only be the first rough source. Then I go to experts like we have in this forum.  :D
1946 BSA C11
1937 Sunbeam Model 9
... and a scratched Hyundai
(MSCR member)

kbryt

in essence yes, in that they deposit metal onto metal by electrolysis. But thats wiki for you, worldwide source of misinformation.

Galavanised zinc has no place on a motorcycle of any era, water tanks yes.

painting the studs probably the best option unless you are a 100% fanatic.

I learnt a long long time ago to distrust "experts" preferring to consult the man who can actually do the job.

Thomas

Look, I am no expert. Maybe I misunderstood the three independent experts. But according to Wikipedia a galvanizer and an electro plater are the same. So, don't worry, I painted the stud and that's it.
1946 BSA C11
1937 Sunbeam Model 9
(MSCR member)

kbryt

grinding the surface??????????? :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o
to replate something that is previously been plated the plating process is reversed to remove the previous plate.