Replacing brake cable sheaths

Started by Steve_M90, August 13, 2016, 07:19:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Steve_M90

To conclude the story.

Thanks for all the advice on what to do and how to do it but given that I am a novice at this, that we are talking about brake cables and that I am a nuclear engineer (we are taught to think about the consequences of failure), I decided to use a professional supplier. I chose Carrot Cycles of Lincoln. A very friendly, helpful and professional service. They helped me understand how the brake cables are connected and thus how to remove them. They made new components and performed the soldering. I decided to replace the wire and sheaths on front and rear and the result is a set of pretty responsive brakes - all the sponginess of before has disappeared.

The key thing I learned about the assembly of the cables is the presence of a brass "bolt" inside the clevice drilled to accept the wire and the nipple.

Thanks

Steve

singleminded

QuoteIf you don't fancy making your own solder bath, you can get them very cheaply via the internet. Mine works fine, even though it is Chinese, and it cost me about £15.
Thanks Paul, I didn't realise they could be got that cheaply..ordered mine last night..John

iansoady

Saw you on Midlands Today last night Paul. Looks like quite an interesting exhibition.

phutton

If you don't fancy making your own solder bath, you can get them very cheaply via the internet. Mine works fine, even though it is Chinese, and it cost me about £15.

Paul

iansoady

3.5mm sounds very thick to me. Normal brake cable would be 3mm max (probably more usually 2.5mm).

I would be replacing both inner and outer but of course if you're changing the inner size you'll need new nipples.

I use Fluxite as it's non corrosive Baker's Fluid is corrosive and needs to be carefully washed off.

Steve_M90

Thanks for all the comments.